Early Detection

Early detection is a supporting factor whenever we are face with anything that may harm us from living. In the indication of a disease or disability that may change our lives, a key factor in beating the odds is early detection. I recently started a petiton that mandates early detection for kids with autism between the ages of 1 to 3 years old. This petition is to support early detection testing for all American families. This will prove to be beneficial in the efforts of helping us change the course of autism in many American families. As we know of now, 1 in 88 kids are diagnosed with autism and every 11 minutes another child is born under the spectrum(autismspeaks.org). The focus for us is to early detect all toddlers between the ages of 1 to 3 years old. This has to be done KNOW! We can’t procrastinate on this situation. This blog will run currently on a weekly basis. Please stay in tune for the progression of our petition. To sign our petition please go to http://www.change.org and show your support. In my next blog I will share you stories about my son Eric. He is the reason we are taking these steps to bring awareness to early detection. Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to spend a moment with us. As I close out I will leave you with this quote; “If you change the way you look at things, things will change for you.” Till next time: #learningforlife

About ewright0629

I'm a family oriented professional who loves God, family, and business. I also believe in personal development and helping others. "You will never change your life until you change something you do daily."

Posted on February 3, 2014, in #LearningforLife. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. .
    Hi Eric,

    You write, :… debilitating disability (autismspeaks.org). …”

    May I suggest alternative insight about just what autism is — though it’s different for everyone who is autistic, isn’t it?

    Hence the image of a “spectrum”, though I think of the spectrum as multi dimensional, and only half of it is “disability” compared to “normal”, with the other half being super-ability compared to “normal”.

    This came in my email yesterday:

    [ From Grief To Relief: Change The Autism Lexicon ]

    “… Susan Walton, author of Coloring Outside Autism’s Lines, was told she should mourn her son’s autism diagnosis — to “grieve for the loss of the child [she] dreamed of having.”

    While a diagnosis can come with unique challenges, there’s no reason to imply a parent has “lost” a child.

    Children with autism possess extraordinary talents, aspirations and potential — they should be celebrated.

    Children with autism aren’t a loss — negative, hurtful descriptions like this demean who they are as human beings.

    Help change the way we talk about autism and pledge to be conscious of the language you use today. …”

    More:

    http://thebreastcancersite.greatergood.com/clickToGive/aut/petition/GrievingAutism

    There ARE alternatives to the whiny fear-mongering of impatient parents, impatient grand-parents, and other impatient (non)-care-givers at autismspeaks.org!

    Click!
    Love and hugs,
    Peter Blaise
    .

    • Hi Peter, Thank you for your insight.You are right, children with autism possess extraordinary talents and in no way would I ever Imply that any child with autism is lost. There is nothing I view about autism that is negative. The choice of words (debilitating) could have been better, but in no way I would say that a child was lost. I have a son with autism and he is just as capable as anyone I know. I probably should have choose another word it wasn’t meant to speak of autism in any particular way. My son is one of the smartest kids I know; I do not under estimate any of his talents. I try to encourage his abilities and I’m a strong supporter of all kids, not just autism. I agree that we have to change the language. I’m still learning everyday about autism myself and how I can contribute to the image of the “spectrum”. I dedicate my life to learning and supporting the development of children with “unique abilities.” The word choice was a misunderstanding and will be retracted from my blog. Thank you insight and I will share this information with my community.

      Love and hugs,
      Eric Wright

Leave a Reply

